Young Erie Philanthropists

Young Erie Philanthropists

In late 2019, Young Erie Professionals and the Erie Community Foundation partnered together to create Young Erie Philanthropists.  The fund supports local initiatives aimed at making a profound impact on attracting and retaining young people in Erie. A select committee of YEP members oversees the annual disbursement of a Erie Community Foundation endowment valued at over $100,000. Committee members educate themselves on the power and effect of an endowment fund, learn the grantmaking process, determine specific causes and/or nonprofit organizations they would like to impact, and ultimately award a grant(s). The Erie Community Foundation staff provides supplemental education on endowments, foundations, and grants to aid the committee in shaping the fund.  This process culminates in a celebration in late Summer to announce the awardee(s) of the grant(s). 

This committee is led by Kristi Bailey.  Kristi was president of YEP from 2018-2020.  She is the Business Development Manager at Team Hardinger and a member of Erie Community Foundation's Women's Fund.  She works closely with Keely Doyle, YEP member and Philanthropic Services Director at the Erie Community Foundation.  

young erie philanthropists members:

  • Jacob Bartko: Executive Director, Community Access Media
  • Joelyn Bush: Director of Marketing & Communications, United Way of Erie County
  • Katie George: Staff Accountant, Marquette Savings Bank
  • Megan Grochulski: Development Director, Muscular Dystrophy Association
  • Lisa Herring: Director of Community Impact, Erie Philharmonic
  • Yelena Kokhanevich: Inside Claims Representative, Erie Insurance Group
  • Anne Lewis: Director of Marketing, Red Letter Hospitality
  • Sarah Liang: AmeriCorps VISTA, Lake Effect Leaders
  • Cynthia Lillis: Senior Marketing Strategist, Highmark Health
  • TJ Richter: Client Advisor, Loesel-Schaaf Insurance Agency
  • Dave Schumacher: Development Officer, Shriners Hospitals for Children
  • April Soriano: LTSS Service Coordinator, UPMC Health Plan
  • Breanna Watts: Director of Advancement, Mercy Center for Women
  • Erin Yates: Operations & Special Projects Manager, The Nonprofit Partnership
  • Alec Zaphiris: Sales Associate, Great Lakes Insurance 

apply to join the fund

Applications for individuals interested in becoming a members of this fund are now open through March 1, 2021. If you have questions, please contact

Apply Now